Context

The development of knowledge and innovation is a project that lies at the heart of Québec's social and economic development. The strategic importance of research is reflected in the significant resources and number of stakeholders dedicated to its practice. This societal project will only succeed through continued support and the promotion of research excellence, and achieving research excellence requires the adoption of ethical reflection on research.


 

In Québec and abroad, this notion has contributed to establishing the fundamental principles of ethics in research. Concretely, it has led to the development of norms, rules and legislation defining socially and legally acceptable or unacceptable conditions for conducting research activities. Acknowledging that ethics and research excellence are inextricably linked demonstrates the constant evolution of a research community and its members, who view the promotion of these values as an additional guarantee of the quality of their work and of their reputation.

Québec and Canada: examples…

For many years, federal and provincial government departments and agencies, as well as international organizations, have published action plans, laws, tools and research ethics guides to help research actors navigate in research.  Compliance with the standards set out in these documents has become a criterion for receiving grants from public sources such as government departments and public granting agencies.

… In Québec

Québec government departments and research funding agencies quickly became concerned with these issues, leading to the Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies (FRQNT) releasing its policy for scientific ethics and integrity (Politique d'éthique et d'intégrité scientifique, 1994, last revised in 2010).

… In Canada

Canada's three granting agencies – the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR), the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) and the Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council (NSERC) – were established to promote, facilitate, support and sustain research projects in their respective fields. Together, the three Councils adopted a series of ethical rules (Tri-Council Policy Statement (1998, updated in 2010 and revised in 2014)) that provide rigorous guidelines for the support and funding of research involving human participants.

Contexte

Le développement des connaissances et de l'innovation est un projet au cœur du développement économique et social du Québec. La mobilisation d'un grand nombre de ressources et d'acteurs autour de l'activité de recherche en confirme l'importance stratégique. Le succès de ce projet de société passe nécessairement par le soutien continu et la promotion de l'excellence en recherche, et la visée d'une telle excellence prend appui sur l'adoption d'une réflexion éthique en recherche.


Au Québec et au Canada : des exemples…

Depuis maintenant plusieurs années, des ministères et des organismes provinciaux et fédéraux, de même que des organisations internationales ont publié des plans d'action, des lois, des outils et des guides en matière d'éthique en recherche afin d'aider tous les acteurs de la recherche à s'y retrouver. Le respect des normes inscrites dans bon nombre de documents est devenu une condition de base pour l'obtention d'un financement de la part des bailleurs de fonds publics (ministères, fonds de recherche, etc.).

… au Québec

Les ministères et les organismes québécois de financement de la recherche ont rapidement été interpellés par ces questions et, dans cette foulée, le Fonds de recherche du Québec – Nature et technologies (FRQNT) a émis sa Politique d'éthique et d'intégrité scientifique [143 ko] (1994, dernière mise à jour en 2010).

… au Canada

Les trois conseils subventionnaires du Canada – les Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC), le Conseil de recherches en sciences humaines (CRSH) et le Conseil de recherches en sciences naturelles et en génie (CRSNG) – ont été créés dans le but de promouvoir, de faciliter et de soutenir la réalisation de projets de recherche dans les domaines qui leur sont propres. En concertation, ces Conseils ont adopté un ensemble de règles éthiques (Énoncé de politique des trois Conseils [2 036 ko] (1998, dernière modification en 2014)) dans le but d'appuyer et de financer des projets de recherche menés sur des sujets humains selon les principes les plus rigoureux.