An indigenous astrophysicist in Hawaii



Laurie Rousseau-Nepton has always had her head in the stars. As a child, she spent long evenings observing the constellations with her family. Her father predicted that she would become an astronaut, and he was not far off the mark: his daughter chose the field of astrophysics to get a closer look at the stars she found so fascinating. In fact, she became the first indigenous woman in Québec to obtain a PhD in astrophysics. The scientist takes this title seriously and wants to teach indigenous girls, and all women, that they should never hesitate to shoot for the stars.

The history of the Universe

Laurie Rousseau-Nepton recently headed to Hawaii to study the heavens as a resident astronomer with the Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope and a postdoctoral fellow at the University of Hawaii. The young woman was chosen for her expertise with the imaging spectrograph SITELLE, which among other things makes it possible to study the stars within galaxies by "photographing" their characteristic light signatures. This allows her to identify young stars that formed just a few million years ago, in comparison to our Sun which is around five billion years old!

The SITELLE instrument came into being in part through Laurie Rousseau-Nepton's PhD project, under the supervision of Carmelle Robert at Université Laval. "During my studies, I worked on the SITELLE prototype, called SPIOMM. I analyzed reams of astronomical data to identify the camera's technical problems," says Rousseau-Nepton, who now trains and assists astrophysicists and astronomers from around the world who come to use the Canada-France-Hawaii Telescope. SITELLE allows scientists to analyze a number of celestial objects such as nebulae and galaxies and determine their chemical composition, velocity, temperature and density, all for the purpose of better understanding the mechanisms of star formation and the chemical evolution of the Universe.

Trust your lucky star

At the Telescope, Laurie Rousseau-Nepton is part of a team of seven astronomers, including four women. It is the first time that she has worked in a team with so many women. "During my bachelor degree in physics, there were only three women in our cohort of 33," recalls the astrophysicist. "For my Master's and my PhD, I was the only woman for several years." During her university career, she often felt that she had to prove herself as the only woman – and an indigenous woman at that – in her field. This situation made her stronger and helps her to deal with the sometimes misogynistic comments made about her. For example, her employment at the Telescope was seen by some as a way for the Canada-France-Hawaii Observatory to achieve parity, implying that women were not being recruited for their skills. Today, the astronomer doesn't hesitate to talk about this journey and her experiences with young women and girls, especially indigenous girls living on reserves. Her message: don't limit yourself to the jobs available on the reserve; there is a "galaxy" of possibilities to be explored. Just trust your lucky star, follow it and let it shine… as did Laurie Rousseau-Nepton!

Une astrophysicienne autochtone à Hawaï



Depuis toujours, Laurie Rousseau-Nepton a la tête dans les étoiles. Enfant, elle passait de longues soirées à observer les constellations avec sa famille. Son père avait alors prédit qu'elle serait astronaute. Il avait presque vu juste : sa fille a choisi la voie de l'astrophysique, pour examiner de plus près ces astres qui la fascinent. Elle est devenue par ailleurs la première femme autochtone québécoise à décrocher un doctorat dans ce domaine. La scientifique prend ce titre au sérieux et souhaite enseigner aux jeunes filles autochtones, ainsi qu'à toutes les femmes, qu'il ne faut pas hésiter à viser les étoiles.

Sur les traces de l'Univers

Récemment, Laurie Rousseau-Nepton a pris le chemin d'Hawaï pour aller scruter le firmament en tant qu'astronome résidente au télescope Canada-France-Hawaï et stagiaire postdoctorale à l'Université d'Hawaï. La jeune femme a été sélectionnée pour son expertise avec le spectromètre imageur SITELLE, qui permet notamment d'étudier les étoiles au sein des galaxies en « photographiant » leur signature lumineuse caractéristique. Elle peut ainsi « distinguer » des étoiles naissantes qui, par rapport au soleil âgé d'environ cinq milliards d'années, n'en ont que… quelques millions !

L'instrument a vu le jour entre autres grâce au projet de doctorat de Laurie Rousseau-Nepton, mené sous la direction de Carmelle Robert à l'Université Laval. « Durant mes études, j'ai travaillé sur le prototype de SITELLE, nommé SPIOMM. J'ai analysé des tas de données astronomiques pour repérer les problèmes techniques de la caméra », raconte celle qui forme et assiste aujourd'hui les astrophysiciens et les astronomes du monde entier qui utilisent le télescope Canada-France-Hawaï. SITELLE permet à ces scientifiques d'analyser plusieurs objets célestes comme les nébuleuses et les galaxies, afin d'en déterminer la composition chimique, la vitesse de déplacement, la température et la densité. Tout cela dans le but de mieux comprendre les mécanismes de formation des étoiles et l'évolution chimique de l'Univers.

Croire en son étoile

Au télescope, Laurie Rousseau-Nepton fait partie d'une équipe en poste de sept astronomes, dont quatre femmes. C'est la première fois qu'elle côtoie autant de femmes dans une équipe. « Durant mon baccalauréat en physique, nous étions trois étudiantes sur une cohorte de 33, raconte l'astrophysicienne. À la maîtrise et au doctorat, j'ai été la seule fille pendant plusieurs années. » Durant son parcours universitaire, elle a souvent senti qu'elle devait faire ses preuves en tant que seule femme – autochtone en plus – dans son domaine. Cette situation l'a rendue plus forte et lui permet d'affronter fièrement les commentaires parfois misogynes à son égard. Par exemple, son embauche au télescope a été vue par certains comme un moyen, pour l'Observatoire Canada-France-Hawaï, d'atteindre la parité, sous-entendant que les femmes n'avaient pas été recrutées pour leurs compétences. Aujourd'hui, l'astronome n'hésite pas à parler de ce cheminement et de ses expériences aux jeunes filles, en particulier aux autochtones qui vivent sur une réserve. Son message : il ne faut pas se limiter aux emplois disponibles dans les réserves; il y a une « galaxie » de possibilités à explorer. Il suffit d'avoir foi en son étoile, de la suivre et de la faire briller… comme l'a fait Laurie Rousseau-Nepton !