A mussel's best kept secret



What if mussel cells could help better understand certain diseases such as Alzheimer's or Parkinson's? That is the hypothesis set out by Sophie Breton, researcher and professor in the Department of Biological Sciences at Université de Montréal. Indeed, her lab is the only facility in Canada to use marine and freshwater mussels as scientific models to study mitochondrial transmission.

In the animal kingdom, mitochondrial DNA is only transmitted by females—except in mussels.

These tiny powerhouses found in almost all animal cells have their own genetic material that differs from the material that makes up the nucleus. Elucidating the particular mitochondrial transmission system found in mussels could help Breton demystify a range of pathologies associated with mitochondrial dysfunction in humans.

In the animal kingdom, mitochondrial DNA is only transmitted by females—except in mussels, which inherit the mitochondrial genome of their two parents. The mussels therefore possess two very different mitochondrial variants that coexist and simultaneously adapt to the nucleus' genome. Interestingly, the system does not seem to cause any anomalies, while only slight variations in the mitochondrial DNA in humans can lead to different pathologies. But why? What molecular mechanisms are involved? And what is the role of the paternal mitochondria?

By comparing the mitochondrial systems of mussels and animal and human species using molecular biology, microscopy and physiology techniques, Sophie Breton and her team are seeking to better understand the specificities of mussels and ultimately explain the processes that fail in humans who develop a mitochondrial disease. In the meantime, the researchers have identified new mitochondrial genes in the molluscs that play no part in energy production but may impact sex determination: a scientific first. The discovery supports the notion that mitochondria are multipurpose!

Le secret bien gardé des moules



Et si les cellules des moules pouvaient aider à mieux comprendre certaines maladies comme l'Alzheimer ou le Parkinson ? C'est l'hypothèse que lance Sophie Breton, chercheuse et professeure au Département des sciences biologiques à l'Université de Montréal, dont le laboratoire est l'un des seuls au Canada à utiliser les moules marines et d'eau douce comme modèles scientifiques pour étudier la transmission des mitochondries.

Dans le règne animal, l'ADN des mitochondries est transmis exclusivement par la mère, sauf chez les moules.

Ces petites centrales énergétiques qui se trouvent dans presque toutes les cellules animales possèdent leur propre matériel génétique, qui diffère de celui du noyau cellulaire. L'étude du système de transmission mitochondrial particulier des moules pourrait peut-être aider la scientifique à démystifier plusieurs pathologies liées à un dysfonctionnement des mitochondries humaines.

Dans le règne animal, l'ADN des mitochondries est transmis exclusivement par la mère, sauf chez les moules, qui héritent du génome mitochondrial des deux parents. Ainsi, ces mollusques possèdent deux variants mitochondriaux très divergents qui coexistent et s'adaptent simultanément au génome du noyau. Fait particulier, ce système ne semble causer aucune anomalie, alors que de légères variations dans le génome mitochondrial simple de l'Homme peuvent causer diverses pathologies. Pourquoi est-ce ainsi ? Quels sont les mécanismes moléculaires impliqués ? Quel est le rôle des mitochondries mâles ?

En comparant le fonctionnement du système mitochondrial de la moule et celui d'espèces animales modèles ou de l'être humain à l'aide de techniques de biologie moléculaire, de microscopie et de physiologie, Sophie Breton et son groupe veulent mieux comprendre le cas particulier des moules et, ultimement, expliquer les processus défaillants en cause dans les maladies mitochondriales humaines. Entretemps, l'équipe a identifié chez les mollusques de nouveaux gènes mitochondriaux qui ne jouent aucun rôle dans la production d'énergie, mais qui ont possiblement un impact dans la détermination du sexe. Du jamais-vu ! Cette découverte renforce la théorie selon laquelle les mitochondries ont plus d'une carte dans leur jeu.