The environmental challenges… of Greek yogurt!



Greek yogurt is good for our health, but it is less good for the environment. The exponential increase in the demand for this high-protein product brings its share of challenges. The manufacture of Greek yogurt requires two to three times more milk and consumes more water and energy than traditional yogurt. Moreover, the regular manufacturing process produces a by-product called "acid whey" which is causing headaches for milk processors. Because of its properties and the value of its components, acid whey must be processed before being disposed of. To help dairy processors optimize the use of milk and its various constituents, Yves Pouliot, a researcher in the Department of Food Science at Université Laval, is working on a decision-making tool in collaboration with Polytechnique Montréal's Interuniversity Research Centre for the Life Cycle of Products, Processes and Services (CIRAIG) and Novalait, a company that supports dairy research in Québec.

The environmental impact of Greek yogurt depends on the way it is produced.

The environmental impact of Greek yogurt depends on the way it is produced. The researchers therefore began by documenting the industrial practices involved in the preparation of the popular dairy product. Some dairy processors filter the milk to concentrate the protein before fermenting it into yogurt; this method minimizes the production of acid whey. Others prefer to filter the yogurt and valorize the by-products. Still others choose to add milk protein before fermentation.

The team of researchers is currently conducting a life cycle assessment of each type of Greek yogurt according to the industrial process used—i.e. their eco-efficiency from the extraction of primary resources to the end of their useful life—in order to quantify their environmental footprint. The results will be input to the decision-making tool, which will help dairy processors choose what products to make and how, based on the predicted environmental impact and associated costs. In short, cultivating ideas for the production of a well-designed yogurt!

Les défis environnementaux… du yogourt grec!



Le yogourt grec est bon pour notre santé, mais il l'est moins pour l'environnement. L'explosion de la demande pour ce produit à haute teneur en protéines comporte en effet son lot de défis. La fabrication du yogourt grec nécessite deux à trois fois plus de lait, ainsi qu'une plus grande consommation d'eau et d'énergie que le yogourt traditionnel. Plus encore, la méthode classique de fabrication génère un coproduit appelé « lactosérum » qui donne bien des maux de tête aux transformateurs. En effet, en raison de sa composition et de la valeur de ses constituants, le lactosérum doit être traité avant que l'on puisse en disposer. Pour aider les transformateurs à mieux exploiter le lait et ses divers éléments, Yves Pouliot, chercheur au Département des sciences des aliments de l'Université Laval, travaille sur un outil d'aide à la décision en collaboration avec le CIRAIG de Polytechnique Montréal, et Novalait, une entreprise qui soutient la recherche laitière au Québec.

L'impact environnemental du yogourt grec dépend de la façon dont il est produit.

L'impact environnemental du yogourt grec dépend de la façon dont il est produit. Les chercheurs ont donc répertorié les pratiques industrielles entourant la préparation de ce laitage si populaire. Certains transformateurs filtrent le lait pour le concentrer en protéines avant de le faire fermenter en yogourt; cette méthode permet de minimiser la production de lactosérum. D'autres préfèrent filtrer le yogourt et valoriser les coproduits. Et d'autres encore décident plutôt d'ajouter des protéines au lait avant la fermentation.

L'équipe de chercheurs procède actuellement à l'analyse de cycle de vie des produits selon le processus industriel utilisé – soit leur bilan écologique à partir de l'extraction des ressources primaires jusqu'à la fin de leur vie utile –, afin de quantifier leur empreinte environnementale. Les résultats serviront à alimenter l'outil qui aidera chaque transformateur à choisir ce qu'il fabrique et de quelle façon, selon l'impact prévu sur l'environnement et les coûts associés. Bref, une solution pour brasser des idées afin de fabriquer un yogourt bien pensé !