Science and engineering: not just a "guy thing"



In Cégep, Ève Langelier dreamed of designing airplanes. Inspired by her father's passion for flying, she enrolled in a bachelor's degree in mechanical engineering with the goal of becoming an aircraft designer. The young woman quickly found herself immersed in a "guys' world".  "90% of the students were male, and the situation hasn't changed today," states the mechanical engineering professor from Université de Sherbrooke. This reality is also reflected in the composition of the faculty's teaching staff: of some one hundred professors, only eight are women.

Many branches of engineering are still struggling to attract women. As the NSERC Chair for Women in Science and Engineering – Québec, Dr. Langelier has given herself the mission of demystifying these fields that are still shunned by women. With her two video series Changer le monde au féminin and D'une femme à une autre, she is seeking to present female role models and deconstruct preconceived ideas and stereotypes about science and engineering.

The hidden side of mechanical engineering

But why does mechanical engineering, in particular, put women off? Dr. Langelier has observed that in elementary school, female teachers, who are the majority, are often uncomfortable with technology. Does their discomfort rub off on their young students? Girls' interest in mathematics and the world of technology is at its lowest point in early high school. Is it a question of culture? "Girls are more attracted to fields that help people," observes Dr. Langelier, who did her own Master's, PhD and postdoctoral studies in a more "human" branch of mechanical engineering. After completing her bachelor's degree, the engineer abandoned airplanes for bioengineering, in which engineering concepts are applied to medicine, biology and sport in order to improve quality of life or sports performance, for example. "This field is not even known to Cégep students. Most people associate mechanical engineering with cars, but it is more related to the study of movement," she explains.

Changing attitudes

Dr. Langelier also hopes that the Chair's activities will help improve the well-being of women who choose science and engineering. She directs a discussion group on the impact of internship experiences. "It is not always easy being a woman in a male-dominated environment. I was once refused an internship simply because I was a woman. That can be discouraging, and some women may end up changing direction," she observes. The engineer firmly believes that one should not focus on a person's gender, but on the skills that they bring to a team. "Diversity produces a more creative environment, so why would you want to avoid it?" she adds. The NSERC Chair is carrying out a pilot training project to educate university hiring committees about the advantages of gender diversity, as well as the unconscious gender biases surrounding employment offers, candidate assessment and hiring practices. "To change attitudes, we must start by changing the way things are done," believes Dr. Langelier.

Les sciences et le génie: pas juste une affaire de gars



Au cégep, Ève Langelier rêvait de dessiner des avions. Inspirée par la passion de son père pour le pilotage, elle aspirait à les concevoir. À l'université, elle s'est donc inscrite au baccalauréat en génie mécanique. La jeune femme s'est alors retrouvée plongée dans un « milieu de gars ».  « 90 % des étudiants étaient masculins, et la situation n'a pas changé aujourd'hui », raconte la professeure au Département de génie mécanique de l'Université de Sherbrooke. Une réalité qui se traduit également dans la composition du corps enseignant de la faculté, qui compte huit femmes sur une centaine de professeurs.

Plusieurs domaines du génie peinent toujours à attirer les femmes. En tant que titulaire de la Chaire du CRSNG pour les femmes en sciences et génie au Québec, Ève Langelier s'est donné pour mission de démystifier ces milieux boudés par la gente féminine. Avec ses séries de vidéos Changer le monde au féminin et D'une femme à une autre, la Chaire souhaite présenter des modèles de rôles et déconstruire les idées préconçues et les stéréotypes véhiculés sur les sciences et le génie.

La face cachée du génie mécanique

Mais pourquoi le génie mécanique, particulièrement, rebute-t-il autant les femmes ? Ève Langelier a notamment remarqué qu'au primaire, les enseignantes, qui sont majoritaires, sont souvent peu à l'aise avec la technologie. Leur anxiété déteint-elle sur leurs petites élèves ? Au début du secondaire, l'intérêt des filles envers les mathématiques et l'univers technologique est à son plus bas. Question de culture ? « Les filles ont plus d'attirance pour les domaines qui aident les gens », constate Ève Langelier, qui a d'ailleurs fait sa maîtrise, son doctorat et son postdoctorat dans une branche plus « humaine » du génie mécanique. En effet, après son baccalauréat, l'ingénieure a délaissé les avions pour la bioingénierie, qui applique des concepts d'ingénierie à la médecine, à la biologie et au sport afin d'améliorer la qualité de vie des gens ou les performances sportives, par exemple. « Ce domaine n'est même pas connu des jeunes au cégep. La plupart associent le génie mécanique à l'automobile, alors que c'est plutôt l'étude du mouvement », précise-t-elle.

Changer les mentalités

Ève Langelier souhaite également que les activités de la Chaire contribuent à améliorer le bien-être des femmes qui choisissent les sciences et le génie. Elle dirige donc un groupe de discussion sur l'impact des expériences de stages. « Dans un milieu d'hommes, ce n'est pas toujours facile. Je me suis déjà fait refuser un stage simplement parce que j'étais une femme. Ça peut en refroidir certaines, qui changeront alors de parcours », souligne-t-elle. L'ingénieure croit fermement qu'il ne faut pas s'attarder au genre d'une personne, mais plutôt aux compétences qu'elle apporte à une équipe. « La diversité crée un milieu plus créatif, alors, pourquoi s'en priver ? », poursuit-elle. La Chaire du CRSNG mène d'ailleurs un projet pilote de formation pour sensibiliser les comités d'embauche universitaires aux avantages de la diversité des genres, mais aussi aux préjugés inconscients entourant les offres d'emploi, l'évaluation des candidatures et l'embauche selon le genre. « Pour changer les mentalités, il faut d'abord changer les façons de faire », croit Ève Langelier.