Does blue-green algae benefit from night lighting?



Night lighting is increasing annually by 5% to 10% in industrialized cities, largely due to illuminated signs and street lights. This light pollution prevents astronomers from observing the stars and disturbs the sleep of many city dwellers. Moreover, according to the research of Master's student Carina Poulin, under the co-supervision of Cégep de Sherbrooke laboratory techniques professor Marie-Hélène Laprise, night lighting encourages the production of chlorophyll a, a pigment involved in photosynthesis among some freshwater cyanobacteria.

Does light pollution also influence other processes?

This gives rise to the following question: does light pollution also influence other processes? Given the fact that these blue-green algae release toxins which, in high concentrations, can lead to public health concerns and restrict access to waterways, it is essential to understand their mechanisms for adaptation to nocturnal and daytime lighting.

Marie-Hélène Laprise explains that three proteins regulate the day/night cycle of cyanobacteria. In order to study the response of these proteins to night lighting, it is necessary to "see" how they are expressed in cells. Finding no existing tools for blue-green algae, the researcher decided to produce molecules called "antibodies" that "recognize" and activate the specific proteins of interest. She and the students in her course are currently working on characterizing the antibody-protein affinity.

The best antibodies will then be used in the laboratory to analyze the molecular response of cyanobacteria exposed to diurnal and nocturnal light conditions simulated using a system developed by Yannick Huot, a professor in the Department of Applied Geomatics at Université de Sherbrooke. With this research, Marie-Hélène Laprise is hoping to determine whether cyanobacteria benefit from light pollution and, if so, to have an influence on the municipal regulation of night lighting.

Les algues bleu-vert profitent-elles de l'éclairage nocturne?



L'éclairage de nuit augmente de 5 à 10 % par an dans les villes industrialisées, notamment à cause des enseignes lumineuses et des lampadaires de rues. Cette pollution lumineuse empêche les astronomes d'observer les étoiles et nombre de citadins de bien dormir. Plus encore, selon les travaux de maîtrise de Carina Poulin, une étudiante codirigée par Marie-Hélène Laprise, enseignante en techniques de laboratoire au Cégep de Sherbrooke, la lumière nocturne favorise la production de chlorophylle a, un pigment impliqué dans la photosynthèse chez certaines cyanobactéries d'eau douce.

Les cyanobactéries tirent-elles un avantage de la pollution lumineuse?

La question qui se pose alors est la suivante : la pollution lumineuse influence-t-elle d'autres processus ? Compte tenu du fait que ces algues bleu-vert libèrent des toxines qui, en quantité importante, peuvent nuire à la santé humaine et restreindre l'accès aux plans d'eau, il est impératif de bien comprendre leurs mécanismes d'adaptation à la lumière nocturne et à la lumière diurne.

Marie-Hélène Laprise explique que trois protéines régulent le cycle jour-nuit des cyanobactéries. Afin d'étudier la réaction de ces protéines à l'éclairage nocturne, il faut arriver à « voir » comment elles s'expriment dans les cellules. Ne trouvant aucun outil pour les algues bleu-vert, la chercheuse a décidé de produire des molécules appelées « anticorps » qui « reconnaissent » et activent spécifiquement les protéines qui présentent un intérêt. Avec les étudiants de son cours, elle caractérise actuellement l'affinité anticorps-protéines.

Les meilleurs anticorps seront ensuite utilisés en laboratoire pour analyser la réaction moléculaire des cyanobactéries soumises à des luminosités diurnes et nocturnes reproduites artificiellement par un système développé par Yannick Huot, professeur au Département de géomatique appliquée à l'Université de Sherbrooke. Marie-Hélène Laprise espère ainsi déterminer si les cyanobactéries tirent un avantage de la pollution lumineuse et, le cas échéant, avoir une influence sur la réglementation municipale au sujet de l'éclairage nocturne.