Tapping into… the white birch!



Did you know that birch sap begins to run as the maple season draws to an end each spring? The slightly sweet sap of the white birch can be drunk or transformed into syrup. In fact, birch water has been a fashionable health drink for several years in Asia and Europe. Québec production of this high-end natural health product is in its early stages, and has not always been smooth sailing!

Tapping does not kill white birch trees on the short or medium term provided the population is in good health.

A birch tree will respond to tapping by sealing off the wound to prevent microorganisms and air from entering the damaged tissue. This biochemical mechanism leads to staining of the wood above and below the taphole. The problem is that the discolouration downgrades the quality of the wood and reduces its monetary value compared to wood of a more uniform colour.

André Vézina, a forestry engineer at Biopterre bioproducts development centre, a college technology transfer centre affiliated with the Institut de technologie agroalimentaire de La Pocatière, sought to help the birch industry by analyzing this phenomenon. After harvesting sections of tapped birch in the regions of Jamésie, Beauce and La Tuque, he developed a digital photography technique to measure the discolouration of the wood without the need to bring the tree samples into the laboratory. He and his team then followed the progression of the discolouration of the wood over the five years following tapping. He also measured wound healing times and analyzed the factors influencing discolouration.

With this study, Vézina was able to prove that tapping does not kill white birch trees on the short or medium term provided the population is in good health. To limit the area of discolouration, the use of a smaller spile is recommended. Finally, he emphasized the importance of developing specific silvicultural practices for white birch rather than simply applying the approach used for maple.

Mieux entailler… le bouleau blanc!



Saviez-vous qu'une fois les érables à sec, ce sont les bouleaux qui coulent au printemps? La sève peu sucrée du bouleau blanc peut se boire ou être transformée en sirop. C'est d'ailleurs une boisson santé très en vogue depuis plusieurs années en Asie et en Europe. Au Québec, la production de ce produit naturel haut de gamme ne fait que commencer, ce qui ne va pas sans heurts!

L'entaillage ne fait pas mourir le bouleau blanc à court et moyen terme si le peuplement est en bonne santé.

Le bouleau réagit à l'entaillage en scellant la blessure, notamment pour limiter l'entrée de microorganismes ou d'air dans ses tissus. Ce mécanisme biochimique engendre la coloration du bois aux pourtours de l'entaille. Le hic? Le contraste de couleur déclasse la qualité du bois et diminue sa valeur monétaire comparativement aux planches dont la couleur est uniforme.

André Vézina, ingénieur forestier pour Biopterre – Centre de développement des bioproduits, un centre collégial de transfert de technologie affilié à l'Institut de technologie agroalimentaire de La Pocatière, a donc analysé le phénomène pour aider l'industrie du bouleau. Le chercheur a récolté des sections de troncs dans les régions de la Jamésie, de la Beauce et de La Tuque. Il a ensuite développé une méthode de photographie numérique pour mesurer le bois coloré sans devoir ramener les échantillons d'arbres en laboratoire. Avec son équipe, il a suivi la progression de la coloration du bois jusqu'à cinq ans suivant l'entaillage. Il a aussi mesuré le temps de cicatrisation de la blessure et analysé ce qui influence la coloration.

Le chercheur a ainsi prouvé que l'entaillage ne fait pas mourir le bouleau blanc à court et moyen terme si le peuplement est en bonne santé. Pour limiter la zone de bois coloré, il conseille d'utiliser un chalumeau de petit diamètre. Enfin, il souligne l'importance de développer une sylviculture adaptée au bouleau blanc, au lieu de copier celle de l'érable.