A biochemist "outside of the box"



When she was a little girl, Isabel Desgagné-Penix, a professor in the Department of Chemistry, Biochemistry and Physics at Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, would see the women of her Lac-Saint-Jean community concoct plant-based remedies because they didn't have enough money to go to the doctor. "That is what first ignited the spark of science in me," observes the young Innu woman. Although she had no university-educated role models in her village, she did a bachelor degree in microbiology followed by a Master's in immunology and cellular biology at Université de Sherbrooke, with a view to studying the pharmaceutical properties of traditional medicinal plants. It was a disturbing experience. "I didn't think like the others," she recalls. "My ideas were often seen as bizarre." Feeling that she didn't fit in the research world, the microbiologist returned to her native region to work as the supervisor of a biochemical analysis laboratory.  This career was short-lived. A difficult family environment and unsatisfied scientific curiosity prompted her to buy a bus ticket to Texas, where she met a researcher passionate about medicinal plants.

The importance of mentors

"I was captivated by Valerie Sponsel, a strong but gentle woman, who has made a place for herself in a world of men," observes Isabel Desgagné-Penix. During her PhD in cellular and molecular biology, the young woman gave birth to a son; thanks to her mentor, she was able to reconcile her life as a single mother with her research work. For her postdoctoral studies, Isabel Desgagné-Penix flew to Calgary where her research director, Peter Facchini, left her to follow up on her original ideas. This led to her receiving the University of Calgary Edward R. McCauley Award for Postdoctoral Research Excellence in Biological Science in 2012 for her work on the genomics and biochemistry of natural products obtained from the opium poppy and other plants capable of producing alkaloids, such as codeine and morphine, substances that are highly sought after for their powerful pharmaceutical properties.

In 2013, UQTR set its sights on the young scientist, who had become a mother for the second time, offering her a position as a research professor to pursue her work on alkaloids. As plants produce few of these molecules, there is a high demand for another manufacturing method using biotechnology. The researcher's dream is to incorporate the natural synthesis pathways of alkaloids into yeast or microalgae to turn them into tiny drug factories. "But first I need to properly understand each of the biochemical stages at work in the plant," explains Isabel Desgagné-Penix, a member of the Centre Sève research centre: a colossal task, as not much is known on the subject.

Celebrating differences in research

This is not the researcher's first challenge. "I have often hidden my aboriginal origins, because of prejudice," she admits. "And yet, it is these origins that allowed me to adapt to all kinds of situations, like my ancestors who went searching in the forest for medicine they could not buy." Living in different places has led the biochemist to become aware of her strengths in research. "Never think you're not made for this career," she states. "And don't be afraid of hard times, because those are the times from which we learn the most."

Isabel Desgagné-Penix deeply believes that research needs ambassadors from all walks of life, men and women alike, because every researcher thinks differently and approaches students in his or her own way. She does not hesitate to take on this role, volunteering as a judge at aboriginal science fairs.

Une biochimiste « hors de la boîte »



Quand elle était petite, Isabel Desgagné-Penix, professeure au Département de chimie, biochimie et physique à l'Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières, voyait les femmes de sa communauté du Lac-Saint-Jean concocter des remèdes à base de plantes faute d'argent pour aller chez le médecin. « C'est ce qui a allumé chez moi l'étincelle des sciences », raconte la jeune femme d'origine innue. Même si elle n'a alors aucun modèle universitaire dans son village, elle s'inscrit au baccalauréat en microbiologie, puis à la maîtrise en immunologie et biologie cellulaire à l'Université de Sherbrooke, afin de vérifier la valeur pharmacologique des plantes médicinales traditionnelles. Ce fut une expérience troublante. « Je ne pensais pas comme les autres, se rappelle-t-elle. Mes idées étaient souvent vues comme farfelues. » Croyant ne pas cadrer en recherche, la microbiologiste retourne dans sa région natale pour travailler comme superviseure de laboratoire en analyse biochimique. Cette carrière fut de courte durée. Un environnement familial difficile et une curiosité scientifique insatisfaite la poussent à prendre un billet d'autobus pour le Texas, où elle rencontre une chercheuse passionnée par les plantes médicinales.

L'importance des mentors

« J'ai été conquise par Valerie Sponsel, une femme forte, mais tout en douceur, qui a fait son chemin dans un monde d'hommes », raconte Isabel Desgagné-Penix. Pendant son doctorat en biologie cellulaire et moléculaire, la jeune femme donne naissance à son fils; grâce à sa mentor, elle réussit à concilier sa vie de mère monoparentale et ses travaux de recherche. Pour son postdoctorat, Isabel Desgagné-Penix s'envole pour Calgary où son directeur, Peter Facchini, la laisse donner suite à ses idées originales. Résultat ? Elle obtient le Prix Edward R. McCauley 2012 de l'Université de Calgary pour l'excellence de sa recherche en génomique et en biochimie des produits naturels issus du pavot à opium et d'autres plantes capables de produire des alcaloïdes, comme la codéine ou la morphine, des substances recherchées pour leur puissant effet pharmacologique.

En 2013, l'UQTR mise sur la jeune scientifique, maman pour une deuxième fois, en lui offrant un poste de professeure-chercheuse pour poursuivre son travail sur les alcaloïdes. Comme les plantes produisent peu de ces molécules, il y a une forte demande pour une autre méthode de fabrication utilisant la biotechnologie. Le rêve de la chercheuse ? Incorporer les voies de synthèse naturelle des alcaloïdes dans une levure ou dans une microalgue pour en faire de petites machines à médicaments. « Mais je dois d'abord bien comprendre chacune des étapes biochimiques en jeu dans la plante », précise Isabel Desgagné-Penix, membre du Centre Sève. Une tâche colossale, car la science ne sait pas grand-chose à ce sujet.

Célébrer la différence en recherche

La chercheuse n'en est pas à son premier défi. « J'ai souvent caché mes origines amérindiennes, à cause des préjugés, admet-elle. Et pourtant, ce sont elles qui m'ont permis de m'adapter à toutes sortes de situations, à l'instar de mes ancêtres qui allaient chercher dans la forêt les médicaments qu'ils ne pouvaient s'acheter. » Vivre en différents endroits a amené la biochimiste à prendre conscience de ses forces en recherche. « Il ne faut jamais penser qu'on n'est pas fait pour cette carrière, dit-elle. Et il ne faut pas craindre les moments difficiles, car ils sont des plus formateurs. »

Isabel Desgagné-Penix croit profondément que la recherche a besoin d'ambassadeurs de tous les milieux, hommes et femmes, car chacun pense différemment et aborde les étudiants autrement. Elle n'hésite donc pas à endosser ce rôle en agissant comme juge dans les expositions scientifiques autochtones.