Aerosols and their impact on air quality



Alberta's oil sands are believed to be one of the largest sources of secondary organic aerosols in North America, pollutants which, according to the World Health Organization, cause increased rates of lung cancer, asthma and heart disease. The Athabasca deposit is estimated to emit 45 to 84 tonnes of these fine particles produced by chemical reactions between various gases and the sun's rays. That is as much as some large cities, such as Toronto. These organic aerosols affect not only the workers at the site, but also the surrounding areas, as they travel as far as the neighbouring province of Saskatchewan!

Currently, secondary organic aerosol emissions are not correctly predicted by air quality models.

Currently, secondary organic aerosol emissions are not correctly predicted by air quality models. Patrick Hayes, a researcher in the Department of Chemistry at Université de Montréal, wanted to fill this important gap. The Athabasca deposit offers a great opportunity to study the chemistry behind these pollutants.

With the help of his team, the researcher used air samples collected at the site by collaborators from Environment and Climate Change Canada (ECCC) to create digital modules that accurately predict secondary organic aerosol levels. In particular, he adapted the chemical parameters used by the scientific community to these particles in order to analyze their formation, reactivity and mode of transport. He then validated the accuracy of his modules using measurements taken by ECCC at other sites. Given the conclusive results of this colossal work, which involved tons of data for hundreds of different chemical compounds, the modules were added to the federal government's air quality prediction model. The researcher is now using them to study other sources of fine particulate matter.

Les aérosols et leur impact sur la qualité de l'air



Les sables bitumineux de l'Alberta seraient l'une des plus importantes sources d'aérosols organiques secondaires en Amérique du Nord, des polluants qui, selon l'Organisation mondiale de la santé, contribuent à augmenter les cas de cancer du poumon, l'asthme et les problèmes cardiaques. Le gisement d'Athabasca émettrait de 45 à 84 tonnes de ces fines particules produites par des réactions chimiques entre divers gaz et les rayons du soleil. C'est autant que certaines grandes villes comme Toronto. Ces aérosols organiques affectent non seulement les travailleurs du site, mais aussi les régions environnantes, car elles se rendent aussi loin que dans la province voisine de la Saskatchewan !

À l'heure actuelle, les émissions d'aérosols organiques secondaires ne sont pas prédites correctement par les modèles de la qualité de l'air.

À l'heure actuelle, les émissions d'aérosols organiques secondaires ne sont pas prédites correctement par les modèles de la qualité de l'air. Une lacune importante qu'a voulu combler Patrick Hayes, chercheur au Département de chimie de l'Université de Montréal, à qui le gisement d'Athabasca offre une belle occasion d'étudier la chimie à la base de ces polluants.

Aidé de son équipe, le chercheur a utilisé des échantillons d'air récoltés à cet endroit par des collaborateurs d'Environnement et Changement climatique Canada (ECCC) pour créer des modules numériques qui permettent de prédire fidèlement les niveaux d'aérosols organiques secondaires. Il a notamment adapté à ces particules les paramètres chimiques utilisés par la communauté scientifique afin de pouvoir analyser leur formation, leur réactivité et leur mode de transport. Le chercheur a ensuite validé la précision de ses modules à l'aide des mesures prises par ECCC à d'autres endroits. Devant les résultats concluants de ce travail colossal qui implique des tonnes de données pour des centaines de composés chimiques différents, les modules ont été ajoutés au modèle de prédiction de la qualité de l'air du gouvernement fédéral. Le chercheur les utilise actuellement pour étudier d'autres sources de particules fines.