A work of art in the depths of a cave



During the summer of 2015, a pleasant surprise awaited visitors to the La Verna cave in Pyrénnées, France: illuminated two-metre cubes floated in the vast underground space. However, these cubic automata, known as "aerostabiles", were more than just a treat for the eyes: they also had a scientific mission that consisted of exploring the hitherto inaccessible cavities in the roof of the cave. Equipped with video cameras, the cubes transmitted real-time images of the unexplored corners of the cave. They were chosen over drones for several reasons, including their four- to five-times longer flight times and the stability of their mechanism under extremely cool and humid conditions.

The flying cubes have become increasingly intelligent through a combination of computer, robotic and artistic systems.

The aerostabiles float in the air by means of a urethane bladder filled with helium. Their movements in space are controlled by turbines and an on-board computer. These flying robots were initially created as part of a technological art project by artist/researcher Nicolas Reeves and engineer David St-Onge, of UQAM's School of Design. Researcher Philippe Giguère, from the Department of Computer Science and Software Engineering at Université Laval, then joined the project to improve the automata's movements, autonomy and control. The flying cubes have become increasingly intelligent through a combination of computer, robotic and artistic systems. Sophisticated algorithms, video cameras and sensors enable them to position themselves autonomously in space and to interact with the human voice or with dancers. Their faces can also serve as projection screens for videos or text messages sent by spectators.

The researchers are now working on optimizing the robustness and interaction capabilities of the aerostabiles. They are also trying to reduce the need for helium, a rare gas that is increasingly expensive. Rumour has it that an artistic/scientific exploration may soon take place in the newly-discovered cave in Saint-Léonard, near Montréal…

Video on the project

Une œuvre artistique au fond des grottes



Durant l'été 2015, une belle surprise attendait les visiteurs de la grotte La Verna, dans les Pyrénées : des cubes illuminés de deux mètres flottaient dans l'air souterrain. Ces automates cubiques, baptisés « aérostabiles », étaient toutefois plus qu'un plaisir pour les yeux : ils remplissaient également une mission scientifique qui consistait à explorer les cavités de la grotte qui étaient inaccessibles aux spéléologues. Dotés de caméras, ces cubes retransmettent en temps réel les images de conduits inexplorés. On les a préférés aux drones pour plusieurs raisons, notamment leur temps de vol quatre à cinq fois plus long et la stabilité de leur mécanisme dans des conditions très humides et fraîches.

En combinant des systèmes informatiques, robotiques et artistiques, ces objets sont devenus de plus en plus intelligents.

Les aérostabiles flottent dans l'air grâce à une enceinte en uréthane remplie d'hélium. Leurs mouvements dans l'espace sont contrôlés par des turbines et par un ordinateur de bord. Ces robots volants ont été initialement créés dans le cadre d'un projet d'art technologique par l'artiste-chercheur Nicolas Reeves et l'ingénieur David St-Onge, de l'École de design de l'UQAM. Le chercheur Philippe Giguère, du Département d'informatique et de génie logiciel de l'Université Laval, s'est ensuite joint au projet pour améliorer les déplacements, l'autonomie et le contrôle des automates. En combinant des systèmes informatiques, robotiques et artistiques, ces objets sont devenus de plus en plus intelligents. Des algorithmes sophistiqués, des caméras et des capteurs leur permettent de se positionner de façon autonome dans l'espace et d'interagir avec la voix humaine ou avec des danseurs. Leurs parois peuvent également servir d'écrans de projection pour des vidéos ou des messages textes envoyés par les spectateurs.

Les chercheurs travaillent maintenant à optimiser la robustesse et les capacités d'interaction des aérostabiles. Ils tentent aussi de diminuer le recours à l'hélium, un gaz rare de plus en plus cher. Selon la rumeur, on envisage une exploration artistico-scientifique dans la grotte nouvellement découverte à Saint-Léonard, près de Montréal…

Vidéo sur le projet