Modelling the reduction of greenhouse gases



Canada has set a target of net-zero greenhouse gas (GHG) emissions by 2050. But how do we achieve this ambitious goal of carbon neutrality? Mainly by taking action on energy production and consumption, two aspects that can be assessed using so-called "techno-economic" energy models. These detail the entire energy sector with its different forms of energy (oil, bioenergy, electricity, etc.) and associated technologies in order to identify strategies that would make it possible to avoid or sequester GHG emissions.

Over time, researchers at the Group for Research in Decision Analysis (GERAD) have developed several versions of such models using the TIMES framework created by the International Energy Agency. TIMES is a large-scale mathematical program—containing millions of variables and equations—which, once resolved, identifies the most economically efficient GHG reduction scenarios and the optimal time to implement them.

TIMES is a large-scale mathematical program which identifies the most economically efficient GHG reduction scenarios.

In particular, GERAD designed the first TIMES model tailored to the Canadian context (TIMES-Canada), which ESMIA Consultants, a company founded by former GERAD researcher Kathleen Vaillancourt, then reworked to create a North American version called NATEM. ESMIA uses this model to advise businesses and the government; for example, in collaboration with the Trottier Energy Institute and Olivier Bahn, a professor in the Department of Decision Sciences at HEC Montréal and director of GERAD, ESMIA uses the model to prepare Canadian energy outlooks. Its latest report, published in 2018, emphasizes the importance of electrification and bioenergy in attaining Canada's ambitious GHG reduction targets.

ESMIA and Olivier Bahn also use NATEM in the university setting, for example, to evaluate the economic and ecological relevance of a new construction material developed at McGill University to replace cement.

Scénariser la réduction des gaz à effet de serre



Le Canada vise la cible zéro émission nette de gaz à effet de serre (GES) d'ici 2050. Mais comment atteindre cet ambitieux objectif de carboneutralité ? Principalement en prenant des mesures sur le plan de la production et de la consommation d'énergie, deux aspects qui peuvent être évalués à l'aide de modèles énergétiques dits « technico-économiques ». Ces derniers détaillent l'ensemble du secteur énergétique avec ses différentes formes d'énergie (pétrole, bioénergies, électricité, etc.) et technologies associées, afin d'identifier des stratégies qui permettraient d'éviter ou de séquestrer les émissions de GES.

Au fil du temps, les chercheurs du Groupe d'étude et de recherche en analyse de décisions (GERAD) ont développé plusieurs versions de tels modèles, en suivant, en particulier, l'approche TIMES élaborée au sein de l'Agence internationale de l'énergie. TIMES correspond à un programme mathématique de grande taille – constitué de millions de variables et d'équations – qui, une fois résolu, permet de cibler les scénarios de réduction des GES les plus efficaces sur le plan économique et le moment optimal pour les mettre en œuvre.

TIMES correspond à un programme mathématique qui permet de cibler les scénarios de réduction des GES les plus efficaces.

Le GERAD a notamment conçu un premier TIMES adapté au contexte canadien (TIMES Canada), que la société ESMIA Consultants, fondée par Kathleen Vaillancourt, une entrepreneure formée au GERAD, a ensuite repris pour en faire une version nord-américaine appelée NATEM. ESMIA l'utilise pour conseiller des entreprises et le gouvernement; par exemple, en collaboration avec l'Institut de l'énergie Trottier et Olivier Bahn, professeur au Département de sciences de la décision de HEC Montréal et directeur du GERAD, elle exploite le modèle pour élaborer des perspectives énergétiques canadiennes. Ainsi, le dernier rapport, publié en 2018, souligne l'importance de l'électrification et du déploiement des bioénergies pour atteindre des cibles ambitieuses de réduction des GES au Canada.

ESMIA et Olivier Bahn utilisent également NATEM dans le milieu universitaire, par exemple, pour évaluer la pertinence économique et écologique d'un nouveau matériau de construction élaboré à l'Université McGill pour remplacer le ciment.